Reverb 10: One Word

I decided to do reverb this year because well – it seemed awesome!  From what I’ve gotten from the site – basically it’s a prompt posted daily for you to reflect on 2010 and to focus on what you want to see in 2011.  I love love LOVE this concept!  And considering I’m doing the December Daily anyway – it seemed like a great companion piece.   I’m going to write my answers here and in my daily apply pieces that are appropriate, especially on days when there isn’t anything going on for me (so like 20 of the 30 days, lol) other than work or mundane stuff.  I think for today’s prompt – my daily entry will have the words I selected featured.  Maybe I’ll create a little book with my prompt answers to review over next year too – we’ll see.  But for now – on to the prompts!

Today is the first day, and the prompt is: Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you? (Author: Gwen Bell)

For me, the year 2010 in one word is: Change.  This year was completely full of changes.  I graduated from grad school in December 2009, and starting January this year, I had a new position within my company with new responsibilities and sitting at a new location.  I got married 2 months ago and am still trying to understand the difference between girlfriend/fiancee/wife.  And with that – I changed my name.  I finally started changing myself for the better and have lost about 30 lbs (so far!).  That weight loss has been the result of lots of changes I’ve had to do on my life, my environment, and my thinking.  My organization is currently in the midst of a full re-organization and we’ve had to learn new positions and get ready for more change that’s coming over the next 9 months.  Heck, I even changed my hair and cut off all the rest of my straight ends to go back to the natural curly hair I adore.

In one year, I’d like the word to be Flow.  In all my project management courses, the term “flow” was mentioned.  Flow is when you just in your groove.  When you are doing your best work and you are accomplishing things like crazy.  Flow is when you are your best self doing your best work and having a great time doing it.  I have lots of goals for 2011.  Getting more of this weight off, finding a way to make crafting something I could do for a full time job instead of working in an office full time, continuing to learn how to be a wife, and at my job, trying to continue to work to find positions that keep me satisfied and happy and fulfilled.  I need to get into that groove and let it take me where I need to go, and I hope by 1 year from now – I’ll have that flow going.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

