Reverb10 – Dec 2 and 3

I’ll be honest – when I saw yesterday’s reverb10 prompt I just kind of dismissed it for me.  The prompt is:

December 2 – Writing. What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it? (Author: Leo Babauta)

It’s about writing and when I saw it, I immediately though – I’m not a real writer or anything, so that prompt doesn’t apply.  Next.  Then at some point late last night, I started to think about it and realized that it doesn’t have to be about writing for a living..  It can be about anything that creates a story – something I do via blogging and scrapbooking.  It’s not necessarily something that has to be good or even with words…just something that tells a story.  Then I realized I could answer the prompt.

The obvious item that doesn’t contribute to my writing is television.  I totally have the time to blog and to scrapbook – but I love television.  Like love it.  That is one thing I love about the December Daily project – it keeps me inspired and motivated to search for something new about each day.  And to be honest – I usually bring up hulu or netflix on my computer and watch something while I scrapbook.  So I guess the way to eliminate the obvious tv problem is to really just watch it when multitask. For the less obvious item – I have to find more things that inspire me – not just projects for the sake of projects.  I realized a while ago that I’m a much better project scrapper and it’s not until very recently that I decided to consciously work on more than one project at a time.  This has been a HUGE contributor to my increase in the scrapbooking room.  I like being able to take out the one project that day that I yearn to work on instead of just working on something for the sake of working on something.  Right now, I have 3 projects going on and I really do love it.  I think that long term – I need to keep a better file of what I’m working on and what I want to work on.  That would also help with my purchasing and knowing when I need to stock up on items, ect.

The Dec 3 prompt is sooo wonderful and of course it would be – it’s from Ali Edwards!: Moment. Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors). (Author: Ali Edwards)

This one is hard to answer in words.  I can think of many moments that stood out this year. When I read this prompt it immediately made me think of how I could explain it in full detail.  I think the only way I can answer this one is with paper and colors and pictures.  So consider this prompt on hold until I finish that project (coming soon 🙂 ).

December Daily pages coming soon!  I had some technical difficulties yesterday (we somehow managed to kill the power to just our two offices) so I finished the pages but didn’t have a chance to upload.  I needed to do some editing to one page b/c I realized that the picture showed some personal info I don’t want on the web  – so it had to wait!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

