Cardapalooza

We have 3 birthday celebrations this month, so in the midst of all my house cleaning, I stopped for an hour or so to make a few cards (and blog about them).

I think this card is going to my dad.  I always struggle with making a masculine card, as I tend to like tons of embellishments.  I think last year I gave him a card with massive blue glitter to make it manly, lol.  I tried to go for a classy clean look by covering a card with paper, punching a circle, and gluing a plain paper behind the punch.  I am not exactly happy with the stamp, I realized that this paper doesn’t take stamps well due to the texture.  But I had already glued it on before stamping, so it’ll stay.  A little hand made character?

This card is most likely going to my mother in law.  I used a overlay (from Michaels) and cut the slot out of it.  Stamped happy birthday (all stamps from the Happy Birthday Close to my Heart set) and put some bling on it.  It’s another simple and classy (at least to me) card.

The last card is for my sister in law (and for some reason refuses to rotate).  I covered the paper with some pretty strips of paper (from an old Creative Memories gift I got at a crop) at some weird angles.  Then glued on the cupcake (stamped with the Cupcake Sprinkles Close to my Heart stamp set).  The happy birthday was stamped on plain white cardstock, backed by another piece of pretty paper and all glued together.  You can’t really see it, but I outlined the cupcake top and the white lines with glossy accents just for some pop.

Now I’m just waiting for the bling and the glossy accents to dry, then these cards are getting some personal greetings on the inside and put in the mail.  The birthdays are all coming quickly, so some will get there early and some will just be on time (I hope!).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

