No Scrapping in the Hotel Room

I’m corny and $5 to anyone who knows where that title came from 🙂

Well I’m on travel again.  This is my 2nd trip this month (first was personal, this is business) and my 4th business trip this year.  Unfortunately, I tend to go the same places over and over again – and none of them are particularly exotic or especially exciting.  But it is nice to go away to where after work there are no chores 🙂  When on business trips, I tend to spend my evenings checking out the local area and working out in the hotel room in my never ending quest for my next weight loss goal.  I also feel like it’s almost a retreat for me when I go away.  I tend to have lots of time to think and to dream since I rarely watch tv when I travel.  I read a lot (currently reading Women, Food, and God by Geneen Roth) and like I said earlier – I always make the time to work out.  I also get to dream up lots of projects and ideas for scrapping.  When planning our wedding last year I thought up a lot of wedding projects while flying the friendly skies.

This year, I’ve been really working on my scrapping and my crafty side.  I realize that I’m spending a lot of time thinking about layouts and pictures and ideas I want to work on when I get back to my craft room at home.  I find myself wondering if there are local scrapbook stores around since I don’t have anything but JoAnn’s and Michaels at home.  I started the LOAD project back on February 28th and while I was super busy and engaged while on my personal vacation a week or so back since it was with my husband and a big group of friends, on this trip I find myself thinking about how much scrapbooking has become part of my daily routine.  I’ve realized that scrapbooking is such therapy for me.  When I have a bad day, I’ll go to the gym and then make a big smoothie and do something crafty for a few hours before bed.  And I feel like the work stress is gone.  I feel good.

This is such a revelation to me because I always knew that crafting was something that was fun and enjoyable – it’s why my husband and I basically handcrafted our wedding.  I loved every minute of it.  But doing the LOAD, I’ve realized that it means more to me and does more for me than I knew.  This isn’t just scrapbooking – it’s art.  And just like any other artist, I put my soul into my pages and into my storytelling.  It’s why it makes me feel so wonderful and why I seek it out even when I’m not physically able to scrapbook.

I’m so happy to realize that there is something out there that makes me feel so completely wonderful and that it’s something that is positive and has a great community.  I’m so excited to get back to my craft room and work on some more scrapbook pages and to work on telling my story through my art.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

