Pre-April Scrapathon

Okay so April’s kits look AMAZING over on Studio Calico.  I’m really going to struggle to keep myself rational with what to buy because for the first time, I’m in love with three add on kits.  I’m trying to justify buying more than my usual one add on by doing a crazy amount of scapping in the past/next week so I can feel better about it.  I also decided that I’d jump in some of the challenges on the blog so I can not only have a shot at some cool prizes, but also try out some new things.  Sketches and challenges really make me push my creative brain by using things I’m not sure how to use.  I probably still will not buy all 3 I want though.  Just too much $$.

Anyway, just wanted to share some layouts I did for this week’s challenge over on Studio Calico’s blog. This week’s challenge was to use rub-ons.  I tell you.  I love them, but I’m not that great at using them. So I have two rub-on heavy layouts to share:

I loved these rub-ons in the Summer Camp kit but didn’t really know what to do with them and this is what happened.  Seems like that’s how all my page stories start, eh?  I started with the clouds because it’s a layout about us flying on vacation and upgrading to first class.  But then I just kept going with them to make a whole border.  I tend to do rows with paper anyway, so it’s still very much in my style, just a little different.

Click on the picture for more detail shots.

 

And my second one using Who’s Who and a whole lot of SC retail rub ons (yes, I’m totally an SC fangirl).  All the stars, the grid, the lines, and the & are all rub-ons.  And I made that wonky little flower out of ribbon, glue dots, and a prayer. And side note – whoa we look different from 2003 (bottom layout) to 2010 (top layout), eh?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

