A Sketchy Layout

A week or so ago, I won a spot in Sketchbook 3 on Amy Tangerine’s blog.  I’ve only recently started to use sketches, so I was really excited to win a spot to try the class and more sketches out.  Today I played hooky from work for my birthday and played around with the day 1 sketch.  This is what happened:

What I love about sketches are that they give me a good idea on what elements to put on a page.  I tend to end up with pages that look less like the format of the sketch and more like the elements of the sketch in different locations.  I also turned this into a two page layout, where the sketch was just a one page layout, because I wanted to use a lot of photos.  I don’t think I’ve ever done a cohesive 2 page layout or used this many photos/items on a page before, so this was a totally new experience.

I’m really excited to see the sketches for the rest of the class.  They send 3 a week, so I doubt I actually will get to them the same day like I did today, but I will try I’m sure 🙂  This class also shows card sketches, so I’m really excited to try those at some point too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Sketchy Layout

  1. Denise says:

    Happy Birthday! My birthday is this week, too. Planning on playing hookey from work, too. I hope you enjoyed your day off as much as I enjoyed seeing your layout. It is wonderful!

  2. sasha farina says:

    i really love sketches.. and KP’s class is the best around! Happy Birthday, girl!

Leave a Reply

