Week(end) in the Life (Update)

My week in the life project ends tonight.  I’m ever so grateful I did it.  Not because of the record keeping or the memories, or the pictures – but for the realizations.  I learned a lot about myself, my happiness, and my schedule doing this project that I don’t think I could have realized otherwise.  It’s not that I’m unhappy or sad or anything like that – but that I need to work at creating more time for myself to create.  No wonder I only can update the blog once a week with a project these days – I’m not really free to do more art.  It’s not fake busy either.  I calculated that after you account for sleeping, working out, working at work, eating, dressing/showering, chores, and driving – I only have about 1-1.5 hours a day during the week to do whatever I want to do not at work.  That’s not really a lot of time to be free, ya know.  I do think I can make some changes to increase that time and to use the time I have in a way that benefits me more.  Hopefully I can stop being so run down during the week.

Anyway – wanted to share some of my favorite photos of the week:

My dad and I at the Marine Barracks Evening Parade (Friday).  He was only in town for a few days for a convention so I was happy to have some time with him!

Reminding myself of which ZING! I already had and which to put in my order this month (Thursday).  I ❤ embossing almost as much as I love to sew on paper!

Pretending to be excited to do Yoga X on Wednesday.

It may just be the angle, but I look pretty good in this pic on Saturday morning!

I have about 200 total pictures (so far) this week.  That’s a lot of documenting!  I also decided today a big thing….I’m doing this digitally.  Actually, I guess hybrid is the appropriate word.  But I’m going to spend some QT with PSE to see what I can do.  I designed our wedding invites and a bunch of other items for our wedding in PSE, so I’m not completely a rookie.  But I’ve never really done designing with pictures and text.  So we’ll see what happens.  I am going to start playing around tonight and laying out some things!  I’ll share my success ( I’m trying to be positive that I will do this right!) this week.  I want to finish my layouts over the course of this upcoming week.  I’m worried if I linger too long on it I’ll forget what details I wanted to capture.

Anybody have some tips for a beginner to digital scrapping?  Please leave them in the comments if you do!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week(end) in the Life (Update)

  1. sasha farina says:

    one day, i’m gonna be brave and attempt this week in my life project. one day.. one day i promise. i love that photo of you and your dad, K. *hugs*

  2. Bri says:

    I think it’s interesting that you learned so much about yourself doing the week in the life project. The next time I do it, I hope I learn some things about myself too. In regards to scrapping a mini album digitally, I find that drawing out a rough sketch of how I want each page to look (in terms of the overall effect) helps. It also helps if you stick to a basic layout/format for each day and then only change a few things like the date, text and the photo. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

