One Year Later

One year ago today I was getting ready

Then this happened

I married my wonderful loving husband in front of a few close friends and family.

I can’t believe it’s already been one whole year. If time flies when you are having fun then we must have had one heck of a blast this year because it’s amazing to me we are already starting our second year of marriage. We’ve had some really amazing times, some rough times, and some hard times. Marriage is a totally different beast than anything you could have guessed it would be. It takes hard work. To let go and make decisions with someone about you and them instead of alone about you and yours takes love, patience, trust and understanding. To embrace your differences and create a team. It’s a different kind of thing. And one year in, we are working on continuous improvement (yup, I was a quality engineer and I just used continuous improvement in a marriage post, so?) to make sure we continue to be the best we can be to each other and for each other.

Our first year of marriage has had challenges that we just couldn’t predict, but we got through them all. Including the fact that I’m never home and am not home today, on our anniversary, because I’m traveling for work. Out of the country no less so I don’t even have my cell phone. I definitely win wife of the year award, womp womp. But hopefully next year (and the next and so on) won’t have this kind of challenge. I guess we’ll have to see what the next 12 months bring us in terms of work, eh?

I had a HUGE goal of finishing our wedding scrapbook prior to our anniversary. That did not happen. I blame my insane travel schedule, does that work? But it will be finished for sure, just in a little more time. It’s okay. I love going back and looking back and remembering a really amazing day.

All pictures by the awesome Ellie Bolton Photography. Makeup and hair by Liv Lethal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

