Nike Training Club: There’s an App for that!!

So in my quest for health I have often in the past hired a personal trainer. It’s awesome having someone tell you EXACTLY what to do and how long to do it for. It’s also expensive. I really can’t put that kind of money out there right now, so I’ve been looking for some alternatives. Workout DVDs are great but can get repetitive. Classes at the gym are amazing if they fit in my schedule (which with am workouts, they usually don’t). So after seeing a review on one of my new favorite style blogs, I Am Style-ish, of the Nike Training Club app for iPhone while catching up on back posts, I decided to download it and check it out.

So the first thing about the NTC app – it’s massive. You have to get on wifi to download. That was my first clue that this app may live up to expectations. Once it’s on your phone (which does take a while, even on wifi because it’s a massive file), you can then select a goal for your workout. Get Lean, Toned, Strong, or Focused. My very first workout I went for Get Lean and picked the 30 minute Jump Start workout (Beginner level). There are workouts that range from 15 minutes to 60 minutes. I love this – as no matter how much time I have, I can find something that fits. Or if I just want to string together 4 15 minute routines to get an hour workout I can do that too. Options are awesome.

I will say – it’s really not a beginner workout. When I think beginner I think of something “easy” and very doable. I was extremely impressed at the difficulty and the push from the workout. These workouts were designed to get you in shape and push you, which is awesome. The voice prompts tell you when to change workouts, when to change legs, when to pick up your weights and how much time is left. Very encouraging and very easy to follow. I left my ESPN radio app playing in the background and listened to that while the voice prompts spoke over the radio app. I love that this app easily multitasks with my radio apps but also lets me make a playlist.

I love the progress screen, it shows every workout you have started, how long you did it for (even if you didn’t finish it), the level, the goal, and the name. This is great for not only tracking progress but remembering what workouts you’ve done and which ones you haven’t. The rewards are another great motivator. You get rewards after completing certain numbers of workouts or workout minutes completed. Some rewards are just badges. Others unlock recipes or other workouts. In addition, there are new weekly bonus workouts from amazing female athletes you can download.

Honestly – I don’t see a downside to this amazing app. It’s free and offers more than I’ve ever seen in another app. I wish I had seen the review for it a long time ago and downloaded it then, but oh well. Now that I have it – game on. I’m looking forward to seeing results with this. After the few workouts I’ve done I definitely feel the burn, so I know it’s worth every minute.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nike Training Club: There’s an App for that!!

  1. sasha farina says:

    it’s that good? i need to get back into exercising…! i need to do it ASAP!

    • Kim says:

      Oh it is!! It’s legit and it is a butt kicker. I’ve done 5 or 6 different workouts so far and they have been as advertised. It’s free so try it. If you don’t like it at least you didn’t waste money 🙂

Leave a Reply

