Don’t Be Scared

As I neared the end of my little house project I stopped by my local yarn shop and picked up some gorgeous yarn for a new project. I was so excited to get started because it was finally a real wearable project.

And then for a few days I was terrified to get started. Even though the pattern is very simple and I had assurance from my knitting mentor that I was capable, I didn’t start. Mainly because I was scared I would ruin the yarn or not know how to do it.

Last night I realized how silly I was being and casted on. This isn’t my first new hobby and I’ve ruined plenty of material and paper while sewing or scrapbooking. I knew part of my whole reason for picking up knitting was to have a hobby that traveled well and facing 3 trips in 3 weeks, I had to pick it up and get started.

20120301-185836.jpg

Hi little fitbook peeking out!

I have a long way to go on this one. Casted on almost 300 stitches and there are 64 rows. I’m only just starting row 2 so I’m just beginning to see what this will turn into. I can say that knitting is a good road hobby. I was able to work on it in the airports and on my flights easily. And since it’s not an electronic device it was nice to board, start, and never have to stop until I decided it was time. It’s easy to do a few stitches during down time and small to pack away.

I don’t know how long it will take to finish this project. My life is going through a crazy period and I know there will be times when the simple repetition of knitting will be a comfort and other times when concentrating will be hard. But I do know that I’m not scared of this monster project right now and that’s a good thing 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Don’t Be Scared

  1. Emily says:

    Pretty yarn! I can’t wait to see the finished product!

  2. Keri-An says:

    I didn’t real use you could take knitting needles into flights, or I’d have amused myself much more on flights I’ve been on!

Leave a Reply

